Homemade Chalk Paint and Araucana Teal Mirror

Homemade Chalk Paint and Araucana Teal Mirror

After seeing chalk paint all over the interwebs, I thought maybe it was time I gave it a try. Also, the cold weather of winter means that it’s too cold to spray paint, which is usually my preferred method of furniture painting. Spray painting in an apartment is NOT recommended.

But there are no Annie Sloan chalk paint distributors near where I live, and even if there were, I am not sure I could afford the paint. After all, I am a grad student. I still haven’t purchased one of the main text books for a class, and it’s finals week. Probably not worth it at this point…

So I decided to make my own. Chalk paint, that is. Not my own text book.

I mixed about 1 part plaster of paris with either 2 or 3 parts paint (depending on how chalky I wanted it). I got the idea from No Minimalist Here, which has a few different chalk paint recipes and tips. I decided on the plaster of paris recipe because they carry that at Home Depot, which is where I was going for the paint anyway. I also added a few drops of water, because the plaster of paris makes the paint thicker.

The After

A fortunate discovery for me (though maybe not for Martha Stewart) is that Home Depot is discontinuing the Martha Stewart paint line. This means that all Martha paint was on MAJOR sale. I bought 7 of the 8 oz sample colors already pre-mixed. Each one was ONLY $0.50!!! I also bought a gallon of white Martha paint for only $13. A steal. And I bought a quart of Araucana Teal for only $5. I don’t know what I am going to do with it yet, but I figure I might want it. Plus, the price was right. So if you haven’t already swooped in on the Martha paint line remains, I suggest you do. Other vultures DIYers are getting ahead of you.

The Before

I found the mirror on Craigslist. It was $25, which is usually a little more than I like to pay for furniture that I am going to transform, but big mirrors are expensive, and this was in excellent shape. Plus, it had truly gorgeous details. Oh! And I almost forgot the best part: it’s a skinny mirror. I hate when I buy a mirror, get it home and realize that it adds 10lbs. Skinny mirrors are always worth a lil’ extra money. Ladies, you know what I am talking about.

I knew this lovely stand would paint and distress and glaze beautifully!

So I mixed up some Martha Stewart Araucana Teal, in the 3:1 paint:plaster of paris ratio and set to work, after I had done a light sanding of course. While watching MadMen on Netflix, I put two coats of this lovely teal on this lovelier mirror. The coverage of the homemade chalk paint is better than that of normal paint, but still needed two coats (I probably use less of the chalk than the commercial kind. I was timid at first).  Two coats of paint, considering how dark the wood was when I started, really isn’t that bad. This paint also dries really quickly, which I love! Patience is not one of my virtues.

From the side...

The mirror is actually not quite as vibrant in the pictures, but during the photo editing process (I’m a newby), in order to increase the exposure, I had to play with the color a little.It’s pretty close though and I’m learning.

Once dried, I sanded down the paint to make it smooth. In case you haven’t worked with chalk paint: you have to sand it, or it feels a little rough. Then I also distressed the details to make it look antiqued. I love how the wood grain from the mirror still shows though the paint in places. I believe this is because the original mirror didn’t have shellac or anything on it, or that I just got really lucky.

Distressing the details makes age believable. Look at the wood grain that shows through the paint!

After sanding, I applied a coat of Valspar antiquing glaze to make all the details, curves, wood grain, nooks and crannies pop! The chalk paint really wanted to soak up the antiquing glaze, so I had to use a lot of water to keep wiping away the excess. It wasn’t difficult, I had just never seen paint be so greedy with my antiquing glaze before.

It's all in the details.

I knew that I would need to seal the piece in some way, and I figured I would try furniture wax for the first time, since everyone who mentions chalk paint also mentions waxing it at the end. I just bought a normal tub of Minwax Furniture Wax Paste and followed the direction on the can. I worked it into all the little nooks and crannies, let it dry for about 15 minutes (or 1/3 of an episode of MadMen), and then buffed it to a soft sheen.

Lovely legs.

I am LOVING the finish that the wax creates. It’s super smooth to the touch, and not too shiny. It makes all the details stand out even more. Plus, the wax was really easy to apply and clean up was a breeze. However, if this was a table or a desk, I would want more protection for surfaces, but I figure no one will ever set a hot drink on my mirror, right?

Aside from the fact that I love the mirror, I love that I spent only about $1 on paint (including the little bit of plaster of paris that I used). Also, learning new painting techniques is a good way to justify watching a whole season of MadMen in just a few days. Not that I did that or anything… Uh… Yeah.

I hope you all like it. And if you do, maybe leave a comment or two. Comments make me supremely happy!

Love and Teal,

Rachel

PS. I’m partying here:

No Minimalist Here

Somewhat Simple

Beyond the Picket Fence

Primitive and Proper

Savvy Southern Style

Domestically Speaking

Sassy Sites!

DIY By Design

Miss Mustard Seed

The Shabby Nest

22 responses »

  1. This is amaze!! I’ve been looking for a mirror like this for awhile.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Danielle! I was super excited to find this mirror on Craigslist. I actually check craigslist every single day.

      Reply
  2. Wow! Thanks for the tip about the Home Depot/Martha Stewart – I am going to get myself over there ASAP and buy some glitter paint (:

    Reply
  3. that is so fun! what a difference some color makes!

    Reply
  4. The color is awesome, and I love that you distressed it! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Love CraigsList – great find and fabulous color! Glad you stopped by and liked my owl mantel! So fun to score at thrift shops!

    Would love for you to link up to our multi blog link party – Imagine the Impossibilities on Jan 31.
    http://www.eclecticallyvintage.com/4/post/2012/01/imagine-the-impossibilities-challenge.html

    Hope to see you there! The deadline is giving me just the motivation I need to tackle my basement – scary down there!
    Kelly

    Reply
    • Thanks, Kelly! I would love to link up and I have been trying to think of an idea for a few days now. I’m in the middle of finals, so my creativity is at an all time low. Sigh.

      Reply
  6. Gasp! You did that mirror in one of my favorite colors! I need to shop Craig’s List more often.

    Reply
    • Thanks, jennifer! I just discovered this teal (about to be discontinued, so buy a gallon now!). And i check craigslist everyday, sometimes mulitple times per day!

      Reply
  7. Hi, Rachel,
    I am really enjoying your blog!
    The mirror looks great!
    Keep at it!
    Emily’s mom,
    Roberta

    Reply
    • Thanks, Roberta! I’m so glad to hear that you like it! I know Emily has excellent taste, and I suspect she may get it from you.. 🙂

      Reply
      • Yeah, probably! 😀

        I have an old mirror that would make a neat chalboard. i’m wondering if you have ever painted on glass with the chalkboard paint…

      • I haven’t but i suspect you can. Look to see what the can of chalkboard paint says. If it doesn’t suggest painting on glass, then you can buy a primer made for glass (Kilz may be the best choice – I suspect it works on glass), and then you can do the chalkboard paint on top of the primer.

      • ok! great! thanks for the tip!

  8. Thanks for coming by Rachel. I have been painting this way for decades and although I can buy ASCP, have always mixed up my own recipes for way less $$! You did a fabulous job…congrats on that!

    Reply
  9. The mirror looks great! I’ve read that the antiquing glaze helps the chalk paint repel grease marks, so I bought some to apply on my first chalk paint projects. It says on the can you have to wait 48hrs before you apply a polyurathane. You applied wax pretty soon after you glazed…you didn’t have any problems with that?

    Reply
    • I waited a day (I think) before I waxed it. There were no serious problems though a little bit of the glaze seemed to get onto my wax rag. However, it didnt look like the glaze was being stripped. I think it’s prob better to wait the 48 to be safe though. (I may have not read the glaze instructions carefully…;).

      Thanks for reading!

      Reply
  10. Pingback: Stripey Desk « Suits and Aprons

  11. Just wanted you to know I featured your mirror on my blog today!

    Reply
  12. I inherited an old mirror!! I loved you ideas!! Cant wait to do my proyect!!
    Thanks

    Reply
  13. Very cute! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

I love getting your comments. They make me happier than really good carrot cake!