RSS Feed

Stripey Desk

Stripey Desk

Well, some of you may have gotten a sneak peak at this desk in my previous post about the craft room. And some of you may have not seen it, so you are in luck! School has resumed, which makes posting more difficult, but I do have some projects I worked on over break that I will slowly try to get things up on the interwebs.

I found this bad boy for free on Craigslist. I love Craig and his list.

The before

It was pretty banged up, but made of real wood, and had some good bones.

This desk even has the cool extra pullout desk surface!

I was first just going to paint it gray with homemade chalk paint, but the desk didn’t have enough details so it wasn’t that interesting when distressed in plain gray. So I thought I would add some stripes.

This is the extra pullout writing surface.

I got the hardware at HomeGoods ($7 for 4 pulls!). I love the silver/white dots with the gray/white stripes. I also love how the stripes wrap around the sides of the writing surfaces, instead of just saying on the top.

A little bit of distressing goes a long way...

After painting, I lightly distressed the piece. I didn’t want to distress it too much because I wanted the desk to look nice, not just like some old crappy thing. If a piece has great details and intricate woodwork I think it looks better with more distressing, but since this desk wasn’t anything super special, I didn’t want to overdo it.

I like the curvy sides.

I sealed the piece with two coats of wipe-on poly to keep it nice and strong. Then I put it in my craft room (well, actually bf helped me put in the craft room because it’s kinda heavy and took some interesting maneuvering to get that thing into the room because of weird stairway angles. Thank you, bf!).

I like how the piece looks now. And while it’s interesting, it’s also neutral so it will go with almost any decor. I have been having decor color-scheme A.D.D. so a few neutral pieces seemed like a good idea.

Oh, and here is a link to the black/white French bulletin board tutorial, in case you were wondering.

Stripey-love,

Rachel

PARTAY! (Don’t let yo mama know!) PARTAY! (Cuz’ she won’t let you go!)

Domestically Speaking

Miss Mustard Seed

My Romantic Home

Somewhat Simple

Remodelaholic

The Shabby Nest

Tatertots and Jello

Be Different, Act Normal

The Tablescaper

One response »

  1. Great makeover! I’m so happy that you decided to join Seasonal Sundays. Hope you’ll be here next week too!

    – The Tablescaper

    Reply

I love getting your comments. They make me happier than really good carrot cake!

