Missile defense, anyone?

Quick poll: If I randomly or occasionally posted about missile defense, would you read it?

I mean, if a girl studies the ins and outs of missile defense alone in the woods for what is actually about a year now, but does not post it on the internet, does it make a sound?

If an SM3 Block IA interceptor falls into the ocean after a failed test, but no one sees it, does the MDA have to call it a failure?

At this point in my life, I think it’s possible that I may spend more time with missile defense than I do perfecting cookie recipes. And for me, dear readers, that means I spend a LOT of freaking time looking at missile defense.

I probably won’t start posting about missile defense… but we’ll see. This blog is often far more aprons than suits though my real life does not always skew that way.

How about just one fun little missile defense fact? No one can argue with a fact, right? Just a little food for thought for those who probably only come to my blog to learn about food for the stomach:

The first missile defense systems in the US, and the system that still defends Moscow, used nuclear-armed interceptors. Meaning that in order to stop an incoming nuclear missile, the United States would try to blow up the missile with a LARGE nuclear warhead! We are talking 5 megatons of TNT power – that is about 500 times the size of the bomb dropped on Hiroshima! Just blowing up in our atmosphere (or just outside our atmosphere, as the case may be). Above our houses. To protect us.

Alright, enough missile defense for one day. I am working on another cookie recipe. Should be ready in a few short days. You are probably more excited about that than about missile defense. That’s OK. We can’t all be huge nerds.

With love,

Rachel

PS. To procrastinate working on my academic paper about missile defense, I blogged about missile defense. I am an even bigger nerd than I first realized!

3 responses »

  1. I read it, liked it, and would appreciate more suits. Cheers!

    Reply
  2. You are TOO funny, Rachel! Loved this one!

    Reply

I love getting your comments. They make me happier than really good carrot cake!