RSS Feed

Mini-Cakes!

Mini-Cakes!

I made mini-cakes! They are adorable and mini.
IMG_0993

Here’s what I did – it was pretty easy and a fun way to make personalized desserts.

I made one recipe of my fave carrot cake (https://suitsandaprons.wordpress.com/?s=carrot+cake), and baked it in a 9×13 pan. Once baked and cooled, I wrapped the cake tightly in plastic wrap and put it in the freezer for an hour or so.

100_0952

Then I used a biscuit cutter to make little cake rounds. I cut all the cake rounds into two pieces. Each cake was then made with 3 layers – 1.5 times the thickness of the cake as baked originally. It is easier to cut each round in half individually than to try and cut the whole cake in half (into two layers) at once. Trust me.

I frosted these with lots of cream cheese frosting, chilling as I went so that the outer layer would harden. I added some marmalade to the middle for yummy filling.

100_0953

I also rolled some in party sprinkles.

These were so yummy and pretty. Very easy, and very fun. I served them in cupcake wrappers, for ease of eating and mobility.

One note: While cream cheese frosting is clearly the most delicious frosting ever, it does not harden like a true buttercream, which can pose decorating challenges. For example, it is difficult to pipe designs with cream cheese frosting because the shapes begin to melt, while piped buttercream designs tend to hard and hold better. You may consider just using cream cheese frosting for the middle filling, and using buttercream for your decorations.

IMG_0994

Another note: You may be wondering why I made mini-cakes instead of making cupcakes. You may think cupcakes and mini-cakes are the same. You would be wrong. The frosting-to-cake ratio in a cupcake is way off, in a way that really bothers me. Also, cupcakes tend to be drier, in my experience, since they are basically all corners. By making mini-cakes, you reduce the amount of heat exposed edges, which makes for more delicious moister cakes. Finally, I think fully frosted mini-cakes are more adorable than cupcakes, plain and simple.

IMG_0995

Now go make some delicious and adorable mini-cakes.

Love,

Rachel

 

 

3 responses »

  1. These really are lovely…can’t wait to try some (WW points plus be damned). I’m really going to miss you! Knowing you’re “out there” in one of my favorite cities and that we can stay connected thru your blog, makes your potential absence in my life a bit more bearable. Blessings for you and Victor. Be sure to update with many, many pictures.

    Hugs,
    your Happy Friday Buddy, Jan….

    Reply
  2. Rachel your blog is seriously amazing and I love it.

    Reply

I love getting your comments. They make me happier than really good carrot cake!

