RSS Feed

New Year’s Resolutions

I usually skip the resolutions. Last year, I figured I wasn’t going to keep them anyway. So this year, I wanted to simplify my resolutions to make them easy to follow. And to say them in a public forum to get maybe a little accountability. There are only three.

1. Floss more. I probably floss three times a week – but that’s really not enough. I used to floss everyday and it felt great. The more you floss, the better and better it starts to feel. I don’t know why I stopped flossing daily, but I want to get back to that. Don’t judge me, please!

2. Eat more fruits and veggies. When I am studying (which I do a lot of), it is so easy to forget to eat the daily five to seven servings of fruits and veggies. I want my five a day (at least!) and now I resolve to seek out those darned fruits and vegetables!

3. Run my second half marathon. Now, it’s true that after my first half marathon (in September) I hurt my hip and gimped around for 3 weeks. But I figure that’s because I didn’t really have enough time to train (8 weeks is cutting it pretty darn close) and only trained up to 11(ish) miles before the race.

To prevent that from happening this time, I am signing up for a 15k in Brooklyn that is about 2 months before the SF half marathon. That way, I will already be at about 10 miles well before the half, so that I have enough time to train for miles 10, 11, 12 and 13. Those are the worst miles. The evil miles. The miles that make your hip hurt for weeks.

Oh, and I’m going to add more cross-training and core-work into my half-marathon prep, including lots of hip exercises.

And when I get back from training runs, I am going to eat a piece of fruit and floss my teeth. Take that, 2013!

With love. And floss. And running. And fruit.

Rachel

PS. The SF half marathon is the perfect time of the year for me – it is about a month after law school finals and month before I take the bar. That way I won’t be completely sedentary while studying, but I also won’t have to be doing 2 hours runs on the weekends when I need to be hitting the books. Woot!

I love getting your comments. They make me happier than really good carrot cake!

