Holy Guacamole!

Holy Guacamole!

Being at home in California for winter break means a few things: sunshine, real Mexican food, awesome salads and of course, AVOCADOS! After eating at my fave Mexican restaurant (chile relleno and pork tamales, yum!), the second thing I did was buy seven avocados to make a huge batch of guacamole. I actually served the guac at the Latke Party, which isn’t a traditional Jewish food apparently, but it was still delish.

Now all I need is a corona.

Guacamole is super easy and super yummy, plus, it is a good addition to any party, holiday or otherwise. I motion that we all make guacamole a lot. And I second that motion.

The recipe follows:

Ingredients

3 or 4 large Hass avocados, or 6 little Hass avocados. Exact proportions aren’t necessary. Make sure the avocados are ripe, which means they should be soft to squeeze, but not mushy. If the avocados are not ripe when you buy them, put them in a brown paper bag for a day or two (check after one day) and they will ripen right up.

The pits from 2 or 3 avocados

Salt

Juice of 2 or 3 Limes

1 or 2 jalapeno(s), depending on how spicy you like things. Seed and dice the jalapenos, being careful not to touch anything (like your eyes) with hands that have been touching the peppers. Youch!

1/3 cup approx. of diced red onion

1/3 cup approx. of diced cilantro (optional, since some people have serious cilantro aversions)

1 medium sized tomato, diced, with the mushy seedy part removed (if you add too much jalapeno, adding more tomato is a good way to take down the spice)

Make It

In a decent sized bowl, mash the avocados and juice of one lime with the back of a fork, or a potato masher.  Generously salt the mix.

Mix in the cilantro, jalapenos, red onion and tomato. Taste. Add more salt and lime as necessary. You will probably need the juice from at least two limes, but it depends on many factors.  I like my guacamole super lime-y, so follow your heart as you add the lime.

Once the guacamole is all mixed up, put the avocado pits back into the bowl. Having the pits in the bowl helps keep the guacamole fresh and prevents it from browning. I don’t know why, but trust me. I’m a blogger.

Serve with tortilla chips and vegetables. And maybe some Mexican beer (Corona, Tequate or Dos Equis). Or, to be really fancy, serve with strawberry Margaritas! Mmmmmmmm.

I'm hungry just looking at this.

Happy eating!

Love,

Rachel

2 responses »

  1. Must be “Californian” guac if it has avocados, lol

    Reply
  2. recipeforabeautifullife

    Great recipe! Love guacamole.

    Reply

I love getting your comments. They make me happier than really good carrot cake!