RSS Feed

Paper Wall “Art” (Another DIY Hoilday Gift Idea)

Paper Wall “Art” (Another DIY Hoilday Gift Idea)

Since I moved into a three bedroom apartment after coming from a tiny Manhattan apartment, which was awesome, I had some BIG wall spaces to cover and little money. Also, because I had moved across the country, my huge paintings were all at home. I almost always prefer to hang actual art that has intrinsic meaning to what I sometimes snobbily call “art-for-a-purpose.” “Art-for-a-purpose” is a piece of “art” designed to fill a space or just to match a decor. I guess, as a painter, it was a matter of self-preservation.

Above the bed "art" is important.

However, since I have been decorating my place, I have not only come to tolerate “art-for-a-purpose” but am kinda sometimes maybe a little enjoying it when my “art” perfectly matches my decor because I planned it that way. Especially in my bedroom and living room where I had some major blank walls to fill.

Threes are always best.

This project is easy to do, and inexpensive. It would make a great gift for someone with a new home, or a college student without wall decor.

You will need pretty paper. I got mine from the Paper Source for about $5 a sheet. They have a wide variety of colors and textures. You can find paper to match any decor. Make sure the paper is larger than the canvases by about 2 inches on each side so that you can wrap it around.

I really like the monochromatic-ness with different patterns. I used purple/gold in the bedroom (matches my purple wall of frames) and turquoise/gold in the living room.

You will need three canvases. Michael’s sells sets of five 20″x 24″ canvas for about $20. This is a great deal. You could also do three smaller canvases depending on the space that you have to fill. In my bedroom, I hung the canvases vertically. But in the living room, I hung all the canvases horizontally above the couch (sorry, no pic) to take up more wall space.

To adhere the paper to the canvas, you can either use spray adhesive or can simply staple the paper to the back of the canvas. I did my first three canvases with spray adhesive, and then realized that it actually looked better if I just stapled it. The spray adhesive can leave the paper a little wrinkly, especially if you live in a humid climate. (New Jersey this fall was SO humid that sometimes my sheets would be damp when I got into bed, and condensation collected on the walls. Literally. Ewwwww.)

With either method, just wrap the canvas like you would wrap a present, taking care to make sure the corners are neat and tidy.

And that’s it. Super easy. Super useful for filling space. And though it’s “art-for-a-purpose” I don’t hate it. In fact, I kinda like it. But don’t tell anyone, ok?

Tolerable Art for a Purpose

2 responses »

  1. That is so charming. I love the color scheme as well.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Decorating A Rental Apartment « Suits and Aprons

I love getting your comments. They make me happier than really good carrot cake!

