RSS Feed

Mashed potatoes!

I love mashed potatoes. Jamie, my friend who was coming over for dinner, loves mashed potatoes. My boyfriend is coming to town tomorrow and he LOOOOVES mashed potatoes. Actually, do you know anyone who doesn’t love mashed potatoes? Nothing is a better comfort food – it’s starchy, cream, can be eaten with a spoon… Awesome!

And I had a 5lb back of potatoes that I needed to cook, so I made mashed potatoes. And, these mashed potatoes are not too bad for you because they don’t have any butter, and all the dairy products added are low fat. But you wouldn’t know it from eating it!

I started with a whole head of  garlic, low fat sour cream, low fat cream cheese, and a little bit of whole milk. I peeled the potatoes because the boyfriend likes ’em peeled.

I cut up the potatoes, and put them into a pot of salted water. I peeled a whole head of garlic and added the garlic whole to the water. I boiled until the potatoes were soft, then I mashed them with my electric mixer (which also mashes the garlic too – the garlic gets sweet from boiling with the potatoes). I add salt, pepper, about 3/4 cup sour cream, 1/2 of the package of cream cheese and blend!

And then we ate the taters with roasted chicken, onions and carrots seasoned with salt, pepper, olive oil and fresh lemon juice. Yum yum yum!

2 responses »

  1. I am going to steal your idea and add garlic to the water next time I make mashed potatoes, sounds delicious!

    Reply

I love getting your comments. They make me happier than really good carrot cake!

